The janoFair conciliation process:
simple & effective

janofair Rules of Conciliation

The janoFair process is a voluntary option for alternative dispute resolution in cases of conflict between a retailer and a customer. The method is based on the principles of impartiality and fairness. The conciliator is neutral and aims to achieve an amicable out-of-court agreement between the parties that is equally acceptable to the retailer and the customer. This Rules ensure a smooth course of the procedure.

 

janoFair Rules of Conciliation

 

janolaw AG maintains an conciliation service for electronic commerce. Its purpose is to facilitate a fast, efficient, and cost-effective resolution of disputes in the field of electronic commerce between retailers and customers. The name of the conciliation service is "janoFair." It is not a consumer conciliation board within the meaning of the Consumer Dispute Settlement Act [Verbraucherstreitbeilegungsgesetz (VSBG)].

 

Sect. 1 Jurisdiction

(1) The conciliation service operates in the field of e-commerce and handles civil litigation concerning the delivery of goods. The dispute for conciliation must be between a retailer and a customer who entered into a contract online. The conciliation service has no jurisdiction over other kinds of disputes, including those related to labor and tenancy.

(2) Individuals are eligible for the service if they are customers residing in Germany, provided that the dispute is filed against a company based in Germany that participates in the janoFair program of janolaw AG. Applicants are also entrepreneur who have entered into a purchase agreement in the course of their commercial activities with a retailer (claimant), which participates in the janoFair program of janolaw AG.

 

Sect. 2 Organization

(1) Each conciliation proposal is drawn up by an conciliator from the partner firm janolaw chung.

(2) The conciliator is an attorney and is bound to maintain confidentiality.

 

Sect. 3 Procedure

(1) Communication between the conciliation service and the parties takes place exclusively online. In exceptional cases, communication by letter, fax, or telephone is possible.

(2) Prior to intervention by the conciliation service, the customer must have attempted to reach an amicable resolution with the retailer. Under exceptional circumstances, this requirement may be waived. Examples of such circumstances are: cases in which attempting to reach a resolution in advance appears to have no prospect of success, cases in which linguistic barriers preclude communication between the parties, and cases in which the customer is unable to establish contact with the retailer for any other reason. The arbitrator will decide at his or her own discretion whether to accept a case for conciliation in spite of the fact that no prior attempt at resolution has been made.

(3) The process begins with an application by the customer. Applications are submitted via an online form, which is available at www.janofair.de. In addition to the names and addresses of the parties, the application requires information on the sales contract and an accurate description of the facts.

(4) The conciliation service rejects applications in the cases outlined in the Consumer Dispute Settlement Act [Verbraucherstreitbeilegungsgesetz (VSBG)]. This applies in particular if:

  • the dispute concerns an area over which the arbitration service has no jurisdiction, in accordance with § 1 above,
  • the subject of the dispute has already been or will be dealt with by any other conciliation board, irrespectively of whether such board being a public or private conciliation board,
  • the subject of the dispute was already pending (including in the form of an application for legal aid) before a court in any way or is brought before a court during the procedure,
  • the dispute has already been settled out of court,
  • establishing the facts of the case would require hearing witness testimony,
  • the claim is already time-barred upon application and the opposing party invokes the statute of limitations,
  • the claim is clearly unfounded,
  • the dispute arose prior to the granting of the janoFair logo,
  • handling the dispute would negatively impact the effective operation of janoFair arbitration service because resolving the facts or legal issues would entail unreasonable expense or because a fundamental law relevant to the assessment of the case is not clear,
  • if there is a risk that the lawyers of our partner law firm would violate the prohibition of representing conflicting interests (§ 43a para. 4 BRAO) or other professional regulations by submitting the conciliation proposal.

Moreover, conciliation shall not be carried out if:

  • the amount of the dispute exceeds EUR 100,000,
  • in the area of B2B (applicants and applicants are entrepreneurs) already 10 settlements have been carried out per shop and calendar year,
  • GTC, which are important for the decision, have been changed by the retailer.

(5) The application is forwarded to the respondent. The respondent is given a reasonable amount of time in which to establish a factual and legal position. If the conciliation service has no jurisdiction over the dispute, if one of the grounds for refusal exists, or if the respondent fails to participate in conciliation, the process is terminated. 

(6) The further course of the proceedings is determined by the arbitrator at his or her discretion, in compliance with the principles of impartiality and fairness. The wishes of the parties are taken into account in this determination.

(7) During the procedure, the applicant may be represented by or consult a third party.

 

Sect. 4 Conclusion of the Proceedings

(1) After hearing the parties, the conciliator will submit an arbitration proposal. The decision of the conciliator is based on German applicable law. If the applicant is an entrepreneur, the decision based also on the UN Sales Convention. A Justification for the conciliation proposal will be provided by the conciliator. The parties are not bound by the conciliator’s proposal.

(2) The conciliator brings the process to a close within three months.

(3) In principle, the process ends when the parties accept the conciliation proposal. If the parties fail to accept the proposal within a reasonable amount of time after receipt, the conciliator declares the conciliation procedure a failure. The conciliator then informs the parties that the procedure has failed.

(4) The process is voluntary and may be terminated by the parties at any time. The conciliation procedure does not affect the ability of the parties to bring the dispute before a court. If the parties accept the conciliation proposal, the result is a contract that is binding but not enforceable.

(5) The conciliator is also entitled to resign from the case if the conciliation has no prospect of success or if one of the parties acts in bad faith.

 

Sect. 5 Principles of the Proceedings

(1) The conciliation service is neutral and aims to achieve an amicable out-of-court agreement between the parties.

(2) The conciliation service informs the parties promptly and regularly about the state of the proceedings and about their rights.

 

Sect. 6 Costs

The conciliation is free for both parties. Each party will bear any expenses incurred that it incurs during the proceedings.

 

Sect. 7 Data Protection

(1) The data transmitted to the conciliator will be stored for the purposes of handling the case, then further processed and forwarded to the respondent. The applicant agrees to this in electronic form when he or she submits a request for arbitration.

(2) The applicant has the right to demand information about his or her data, as well as to correct, erase, or block the data.

 

Sect. 8 Final Provisions

(1) For the duration of the conciliation process, the conciliation service will strive to facilitate an out-of-court settlement of the dispute between parties. Due to the voluntary nature of the process, however, the settlement depends on the parties. As a result, there can be no guarantee that a settlement of the dispute will be reached. The conciliation board assumes no liability for settling the dispute.

(2) Filing the request does not alone suspend the statute of limitations. This only occurs if the requirements of §§ 203 and 204 of the German Civil Code [Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (BGB)] are met.

(3) The conciliation service assumes no responsibility for the observance of time limits, such as withdrawal periods or statutes of limitations.

How It Works

Das janoFair-Schlichtungsverfahren:
unkompliziert & effektiv

janoFair-Schlichtungsordnung

Die janoFair Online-Schlichtung ist eine freiwillige Möglichkeit zur außergerichtlichen Streitbeilegung in Konfliktfällen zwischen einem Online-Händlern und ihren Kunden. Das Verfahren ist geprägt vom Grundsatz der Unparteilichkeit und Billigkeit. Der Schlichter ist neutral. Sein Ziel ist die Herbeiführung einer außergerichtlichen und gütlichen Einigung zwischen den Parteien, die vom Shopbetreiber und dem Kunden gleichermaßen akzeptiert wird.

 

Schlichtungsordnung von janoFair

 

Die janolaw AG unterhält eine Schlichtungsstelle für den elektronischen Geschäftsverkehr. Zweck ist eine effiziente, kostengünstige und schnelle Beilegung von Streitfällen im Bereich des elektronischen Geschäftsverkehrs zwischen Unternehmern und ihren Kunden. Die Schlichtungsstelle trägt den Namen "janoFair". Sie ist keine Verbraucherschlichtungsstelle im Sinne des Verbraucherstreitbeilegungsgesetzes (VSBG).

 

§ 1 Zuständigkeit

(1) Die Schlichtungsstelle ist zuständig für zivilrechtliche Streitigkeiten im Bereich des Online-Handels betreffend die Lieferung von Waren. Die Streitigkeit muss zwischen einem Unternehmer und einem Verbraucher bestehen, die einen Vertrag unter Verwendung des Internets geschlossen haben. Zuständig ist die Schlichtungsstelle insbesondere nicht für arbeitsrechtliche und mietrechtliche Streitigkeiten.

(2) Antragsberechtigt sind Verbraucher mit Wohnsitz in Deutschland, wenn der Shopbetreiber ebenfalls seinen Sitz in Deutschland hat und an janoFair teilnimmt. Antragsberechtigt sind auch Unternehmer, die im Rahmen ihrer gewerblichen Tätigkeit einen Kaufvertrag mit einem Shopbetreiber (Antragsgegener) geschlossen haben, der am janoFair-Programm der janolaw AG teilnimmt.   

 

§ 2 Organisation

(1) Jeder Schlichtungsvorschlag wird von einem Streitschlichter der Partnerkanzlei janolaw chung erstellt.

(2) Der Streitschlichter ist Rechtsanwalt und zur Verschwiegenheit verpflichtet.

 

§ 3 Verfahren

(1) Die Kommunikation zwischen der Schlichtungsstelle und den Verfahrensbeteiligten soll ausschließlich über das Internet erfolgen. Ausnahmsweise ist auch eine Kommunikation per Brief, Fax oder Telefon möglich.

(2) Vor der Einschaltung der Schlichtungsstelle soll sich der Antragsteller bereits um eine einvernehmliche Lösung mit dem Unternehmen bemüht haben. Ausnahmsweise ist ein solcher vorheriger Einigungsversuch entbehrlich. Dies ist insbesondere dann der Fall, wenn ein Einigungsversuch schon im Vorhinein aussichtslos erscheint, wenn eine Kontaktaufnahme aus sprachlichen Gründen nicht möglich ist oder wenn der Antragsteller aus anderen Gründen nicht in der Lage ist, mit dem Unternehmer in Kontakt zu treten. Ob ein Fall trotz unterbliebenem Einigungsversuch zur Schlichtung angenommen wird, entscheidet der Schlichter nach freiem Ermessen.

(3) Das Verfahren beginnt mit einer Antragstellung durch den Kunden. Die Antragstellung erfolgt über ein Online-Formular, das auf der Webseite www.janofair.de zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Anzugeben sind neben dem Namen und Anschrift der Parteien auch Daten zum Kaufvertrag und eine präzise Sachverhaltsschilderung.

(4) Die Schlichtungsstelle lehnt Anträge in den durch das Verbraucherstreitbeilegungsgesetz (VSBG) vorgesehenen Fällen ab. Dies ist insbesondere dann der Fall, wenn

  • die Schlichtungsstelle gemäß § 1 unzuständig ist,
  • der Gegenstand der Streitigkeit bereits bei einem Gericht in irgendeiner Form (z.B. auch in Gestalt eines Antrags auf Prozesskostenhilfe) anhängig war oder während des Verfahrens anhängig gemacht wird,
  • die Streitigkeit bereits durch außergerichtlichen Vergleich beigelegt ist,
  • Zeugen gehört werden müssten, um den Sachverhalt zu ermitteln,
  • der Anspruch bei Antragsstellung bereits verjährt ist und der Anspruchsgegner sich auf die Verjährung beruft,
  • der Antrag offensichtlich unbegründet ist,
  • die Streitigkeit vor Vergabe des janoFair-Siegels entstanden ist,
  • die Behandlung der Streitigkeit den effektiven Betrieb des janoFair-Schlichtungsservices beinträchtigen würde, weil der Sachverhalt oder rechtliche Fragen nur mit einem unangemessenen Aufwand geklärt werden können, oder weil eine grundsätzliche Rechtsfrage, die für die Bewertung des Falls erheblich ist, nicht geklärt ist.

Darüber hinaus wird die Schlichtung nicht durchgeführt, wenn

  • der Streitwert 100.000 Euro übersteigt,
  • im Bereich B2B (Antragssteller und Antragsgegner sind Unternehmer) bereits 10 Schlichtungsfälle pro Shop und Kalenderjahr durchgeführt wurden,
  • entscheidungserhebliche AGB-Klauseln durch den Shopbetreiber geändert wurden.

(5) Der Antrag wird an den Antragsgegner weitergeleitet. Der Antragsgegner erhält innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist Gelegenheit zur tatsächlichen und rechtlichen Stellungnahme. Ist die Schlichtungsstelle unzuständig, liegt einer der Ablehnungsgründe vor oder lässt sich der Antragsgegner nicht auf eine Schlichtung ein, endet das Verfahren. 

(6) Den weiteren Gang des Verfahrens bestimmt der Schlichter nach freiem Ermessen unter Beachtung der Grundsätze der Unparteilichkeit und Billigkeit. Dabei sollen grundsätzlich die Wünsche der Parteien berücksichtigt werden.

(7) Der Antragsteller kann sich während des Verfahrens durch einen Dritten vertreten lassen oder einen Dritten hinzuziehen.

 

§ 4 Verfahrensabschluss

(1) Der Schlichter unterbreitet nach Anhörung der Parteien einen Schlichtungsvorschlag. Grundlage der Entscheidung des Schlichters ist das geltende Recht der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Ist der Antragsteller Unternehmer, gilt auch das zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstelung gültige UN-Kaufrecht. Der Schlichtungsvorschlag wird begründet. Die Parteien sind an den Vorschlag des Schlichters nicht gebunden.

(2) Der Schlichter bringt das Verfahren grundsätzlich innerhalb von drei Monaten zum Abschluss.

(3) Das Verfahren endet grundsätzlich mit Annahme des Schlichtungsvorschlags durch die Parteien. Nehmen die Parteien den Schlichtungsvorschlag des Schlichters nicht innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist nach Zugang des Schlichtungsvorschlags bei den Parteien an, so erklärt der Schlichter das Schlichtungsverfahren für gescheitert. Der Schlichter informiert die Parteien über das Scheitern des Schlichtungsverfahrens.

(4) Das Verfahren ist freiwillig und kann jederzeit von den Parteien beendet werden. Die Möglichkeit der Parteien ein Gerichtsverfahren durchzuführen wird durch das Schlichtungsverfahren nicht berührt. Nehmen die Parteien den Schlichtungsvorschlag an, so entsteht eine vertragliche Bindung, nicht jedoch ein vollstreckbarer Titel.

(5) Der Schlichter ist ebenfalls berechtigt, den Fall niederzulegen, wenn die Schlichtung keine Aussicht auf Erfolg hat oder eine Partei treuwidrig handelt.

 

§ 5 Verfahrensmaximen

(1) Die Schlichtungsstelle ist neutral und arbeitet auf die Herbeiführung einer außergerichtlichen, gütlichen Einigung zwischen den Parteien hin.

(2) Die Schlichtungsstelle informiert die Parteien zügig und regelmäßig über den Verfahrensstand und ihre Rechte.

 

§ 6 Kosten

Die Schlichtung ist für die Verfahrensbeteiligten kostenlos. Ihre eigenen Aufwendungen während des Verfahrens tragen die Verfahrensbeteiligten selbst.

 

§ 7 Datenschutz

(1) Die dem Schlichter übermittelten Daten werden zum Zweck der Fallbearbeitung gespeichert und weiterverarbeitet und an den Antragsgegner weitergegeben. Der Antragsteller erklärt sich hiermit in elektronischer Form bei Antragstellung einverstanden.

(2) Der Antragsteller hat das Recht Auskunft über seine Daten zu verlangen, seine Daten berichtigen, löschen und sperren zu lassen.

 

§ 8 Schlussbestimmungen

(1) Die Schlichtungsstelle bemüht sich während des gesamten Schlichtungsverfahrens um eine außergerichtliche Streitbeilegung zwischen den Parteien. Aufgrund der Freiwilligkeit des Verfahrens hängt die Beilegung jedoch von den Parteien ab. Eine Gewähr für eine Beilegung des Streitfalls kann daher nicht übernommen werden. Insoweit scheidet auch eine Haftung der Schlichtungsstelle aus.

(2) Durch Antragsstellung allein wird die Verjährung nicht gehemmt, sondern nur, wenn die Voraussetzungen der §§ 203, 204 BGB erfüllt sind.

(3) Die Schlichtungsstelle übernimmt keine Verantwortung für die Wahrung von Fristen wie z.B. Widerrufsfristen oder Verjährungsfristen.

 

So funktioniert’s